Taking Flight

“Once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.”

― Leonardo da Vinci

I used to be scared to fly. So scared I would have panic attacks in the airport. I’d feel nauseous for days before travelling and anxious at the mere thought of it.

Ironically, once we had hurtled down the runway, achieved take off and reached cruising altitude I always felt totally fine.

This continued for years, in fact it got worse until what I realised was …..

I wasn’t scared of flying! I was scared to fly. I was scared to spread my wings, take off, reach new heights and unleash my potential.

Author: Dr Rachel Hall

The Holistic Dentist who Loves Humanity. Life is about people, connection, love and equality. People are suffering and have forgotten they are naturally amazing. By living in a way that is more self-loving, gentle and truthful we can reawaken our capacity for grandness.

6 thoughts on “Taking Flight”

  1. Awesome that you shared your moment Rachel, my wings lifted out and spread wide, my body felt so light reading this :-)x

  2. Many thanks for sharing your insights, Rachel.
    They shed a different light on my memories of the early days of flight when ‘sick bags’ were commonly used by so many passengers. Amazing what fear can do to the body!

    1. Fear can be so paralysing if we allow it to dominate who we are.
      These days when people fly they distract and numb themselves with food, alcohol and entertainment so they don’t have to be present.

      I recently flew for 8 hours and sat with no movies or games etc. instead I chose to just be still and breathe – I felt lovely and the flight passed really quickly. It was also a great opportunity to observe myself and my fellow passengers.

What are your thoughts?

