Resolving and Reflecting for The New Year

The New Year is rapidly approaching and like many of you at this time I was sat recently contemplating what I’d like to achieve or change in my life.

The past 6 months have been particularly challenging in many ways but out of adversity has come numerous positives. I have a renewed passion and direction for my business, have unveiled hidden skills that I never knew I had and am branching out into new avenues and ventures.

New people have come into my life who have touched my heart with their generosity, commitment and humour and old friends have stood with me every step of the way.
I have become even closer to my partner and my son and have learnt how strong and resilient I am, no matter what.

I want to take this opportunity to thank my family and my friends for their enormous support in what could have been a very difficult time. Your love keeps me strong.

In reflection I can see how much I have to be grateful for and have really come to appreciate what life has to offer – the simple smile of stranger as we pass in the street, a flower coming into bloom, clouds in the sky, a sunset, butterflies, the laughter of children, real friends and the wonder of human life and all the steps we take to find our purpose and know who we are.

I have no resolutions as such for my year to come other than to build on the foundations of love, trust, truth and friendship that I am always developing in my heart.

So instead of resolutions here are my wishes for 2013

Tone my body and build some muscles back
Join a gym and perhaps go more than once
Spend more quality time with my family
Become a better boss, lead by example and mentor more
Say what I’m feeling rather than expecting people to read my mind
Nurture myself
Work on eating only when I am truly hungry
Be deeply caring of myself and others
Work smarter
Do more writing
Start podcasts
Relax, take things slower, pause for breath and savour the moment
Make new connections and cherish the ones I already have
Accept myself for who I am despite my faults and flaws
Marvel at the amazingness of the untapped potential that lies deep inside us all just waiting to burst out.

Oh and of course, mustn’t forget this one – have lots of fun along the way!

Whatever your wishes, dreams, hopes and resolutions for the future; here’s to a year full of wonder, love, beauty, friendship and magic for you all.

Author: Dr Rachel Hall

The Holistic Dentist who Loves Humanity. Life is about people, connection, love and equality. People are suffering and have forgotten they are naturally amazing. By living in a way that is more self-loving, gentle and truthful we can reawaken our capacity for grandness.

5 thoughts on “Resolving and Reflecting for The New Year”

  1. It seems if we approached each day as we do January, 1 we would more deeply appreciate the opportunities and delights each day might hold. Also, how much more joyous could our lives be, if we let each day pass without self-recrimination or blaming others for anything that presented in the day as an OOPS – to be able to see it as simply another opportunity to notice what works for us and what doesn’t.

    1. You are welcome. Glad to see someone on a similar wavelength to me. I wanted to keep my list real and achievable. It was more about what is important to me rather than goals to loose weight or get fit which are so unspecific.
      Lets see how the year pans out and what will be on my wish list for 2014!

What are your thoughts?

