Expectations

Great Expectations scan
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today is a day to let go of all expectations. Because nothing ever goes as “planned”.

The people who you think will be “difficult” often aren’t and those things that are normally “straight forward” end up more challenging than they “should” be.

Projecting our expectations taints our experiences. We paint a picture instead of seeing things as they are. We skew reality and bring in complexity.

Life in essence is simple.

Take things as they are and let what will be BE.

Author: Dr Rachel Hall

The Holistic Dentist who Loves Humanity. Life is about people, connection, love and equality. People are suffering and have forgotten they are naturally amazing. By living in a way that is more self-loving, gentle and truthful we can reawaken our capacity for grandness.

7 thoughts on “Expectations”

  1. That’s great advice to not have ‘great expectations’ or the opposite kind – to just take people as you find them and things as they happen, Rachel.

  2. Too true. Expectations just get in the way of seeing the truth of what is unfolding in front and around us. It would be so very lovely to not taint the experiences I am about to have with my unnecessary expectations before they have even happened. One day….. I will live with no expectations as see all that is there to see in its purity. Awesome post Rachel.

  3. As far back as my mid teens I strongly felt that expectations lead to disappointment: that you would expect a situation to be a certain way, and when it wasn’t I remember feeling really let down. But it wasn’t the situation that let me down, it was what I put on it – that then didn’t turn out – that left me feeling down. That said, and despite that knowledge, I feel I still expect things to be a certain way, and know how much I can berate myself or feel blue when things don’t come that way. Thanks Rachel, a timely reminder to LET GO and just BE

  4. awesome thank you Rachel, Im loving the simplicity of your blogs…. a very wise young woman (SB) once said to me ‘expect the unexpected’…

What are your thoughts?

