Perseverance

Permanence, perseverance and persistence in spite of all obstacles, discouragements, and impossibilities: It is this, that in all things distinguishes the strong soul from the weak.
Thomas Carlyle

There have been many times in my life when I have felt like quitting, giving up or throwing in the towel. But out of adversity has always come opportunity with the little voice inside me saying “you can do it”, “you can make it”, “you already know how to handle this”, “you are strong – never give up”. In this way I battled through life with my “I’ll show them” mentality, from one success to another like great grades at school, going to university, becoming a professional, opening my own business and so on.

However somewhere along the way I had subtly quit, given up and thrown in the towel. As in fighting my way through life I had given up on tenderness, quit being gentle and thrown in the towel on love.

What I had achieved in my life I had done at the expense of myself and my true nature. I had become hardened to the World with a heart so shut down that I kept people out and protected myself from hurt. I was fiercely independent and could do it all myself. In fact it was my job to do it and take it all on, no need for support, assistance or help.

Then slowly, slowly life began to change…..

8 years ago I met an incredible man, a man so full of love, tenderness and truth that I was dumbfounded. In that moment I fell in love; I fell in love with myself. I began to feel that same love, tenderness and truth start to well up in me like a match being held to the fire. As my heart filled with warmth, I gently wept remembering how much I missed that all too familiar if not all too distant feeling.

Over the ensuing years I chose to live in a way that fostered the ability to be more tender, gentle and loving, to connect to my soul and live from the impulses of my heart. Now this hasn’t always been easy and has brought up a lot of old emotional issues and unresolved hurts that I have needed to deal with and let go. I have also had to look at my part in what has happened to me in my life and take responsibility for my choices, actions and words.

Recently this incredible, inspiring man of love has come under heavy criticism and media interest as it seems living more lovingly, respectfully and caringly are something to be sneered and jeered at because they go against the trend of the way humanity is living today. As part of that I have been heavily caught in the crossfire for my support for this man and his organisation.

Yet not once has my resolve wavered, not once have I felt like quitting, throwing in the towel or giving up on what I know in my heart to be true. And in this I have found the most incredible support and strength to preserver, step up and persist despite the seeming obstacles and resistance trying to stand in my way.

My love is steady, my soul is strong, I know who I am and what my purpose is this life. And boy oh boy does that make for a powerful, unstoppable combination.

Author: Dr Rachel Hall

The Holistic Dentist who Loves Humanity. Life is about people, connection, love and equality. People are suffering and have forgotten they are naturally amazing. By living in a way that is more self-loving, gentle and truthful we can reawaken our capacity for grandness.

12 thoughts on “Perseverance”

  1. Beautifully said, Rachel. Your Love is certainly unstoppable and thank goodness you are not a quitter. Thank you for the inspiration you provide those who have the pleasure of having you in their lives.

  2. I concur Rachel I too felt the love presented by this man and have found a steadiness in stepping up not to defend but to stand strong for love, for the truth. It has been liberating.

  3. I am so very much enjoying your writing Rachel. There are echoes in your words for me, and I would imagine for everyone else as well! Thanks for your support of all things love – if that’s what we are made of – you are standing in support of our true nature – all of us.

What are your thoughts?

