Alcohol at schools?

boyandgirlschoolsign

Please help me to gather research by having your say on this poll as this will be used as supporting evidence for when I approach the local school. I feel very strongly that it is wrong to allow or serve alcohol at school events where there are children present.

Alcohol and children do not mix.

Author: Dr Rachel Hall

The Holistic Dentist who Loves Humanity. Life is about people, connection, love and equality. People are suffering and have forgotten they are naturally amazing. By living in a way that is more self-loving, gentle and truthful we can reawaken our capacity for grandness.

13 thoughts on “Alcohol at schools?”

  1. I feel strongly that alcohol should not be allowed on school premises and it doesn’t matter if children are present or not. I feel we should be setting the best example possible for children and abusing our body by consuming alcohol is not something I want my children to do. I am not talking about excess but any consumption at all.
    I am interested in what comments others make and what your research finds.

  2. Hi Rachel, as you may be aware, alcohol used to be allowed, on health care premises, hospitals, etc for many years, and we used to have social clubs on the hospital sites – more than a decade ago it was removed from all healthcare/hospital sites, and the social clubs closed down. It feels great that there this took place – added to which there is now no smoking on any of these premises either (usually a small smoking shelter somewhere in the grounds of the hospital). As regards alcohol, drugs etc in schools You may find this interesting – http://www.education.gov.uk/childrenandyoungpeople/healthandwellbeing/substancemisuse/a0070043/alcohol

  3. Our local school where my children attend has a no alcohol policy at school events with the aim being to show our children that you can have fun without needing alcohol. We have had mid winter bonfires, family talent nights and movie nights without any alcohol present. Everyone seems to survive quite well and have a good time without the need to imbibe. The small school down the road however actually has a liquor licence for their events.

    1. Paula I would like the school where my son goes to consider adopting a no alcohol policy. What have we come to as a society when we can’t attend an event for a few hours without having to have a drink?
      And yes you are spot on – we need to show our children that it is easy, natural and very possible to have fun without a drink in hand.
      I have decided to approach the principle and the school’s P&C about the issue and then write to the Education Dept.
      It disturbs me that schools (of all places!) have liquor licences. I am shaking my head in disbelief.

  4. I was really surprised when i attended a school event at my daughters school… one of the fundraising games involved bottles of wine as the prizes.. then there were parents drinking secretly but it was so obvious. These parents were teaching their kids how to hide their alcohol! Then there were the other parents who drank openly or went out the back to smoke a joint. I thought it was sad that these were the role models. I felt like I was the odd one out as I was the one without a drink.

    1. It really is sad that we as adults find it so hard to get through life without the need to dull ourselves or alter who we are with alcohol or drugs. That alcohol is encouraged at school events shocks me as it says to our kids this is what been grown up is all about, when I fact we are just hurt kids in adult body’s who have not actual learnt to deal with life. And so the cycle repeats.
      I look forward to the day when your are the odd one out for having a drink not the other way around.

  5. It is sad really that parents cannot just be themselves at a school event and connect with any child present, not just there own. Its great that you are raising this issue Rachel and making the focus the children.

  6. The NSW Dept of Education policy on Drugs in Schools states alcohol must not be consumed at an event for the school when students are present. This is also clearly stated on national P&C documentation. It is amazing how this policy is often totally disregarded by the school staff and committee members, and anyone who raises this as an issue is ridiculed and bullied. Events with students should be student focussed, and not having alcohol removes the association that social events always require it. I see no issue in alcohol being consumed at a school event when children are not present.

What are your thoughts?

